ssdi (California)

Rant, rave, share expiences, seek comfort - this forum is a general category. If you have a legal or medical question, go to Questions and Advise.

ssdi (California)

Postby dolphines on Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:16 am

Why are employers allowed to pass off payment for injured workers to the state?

I received TTD for 2 years, then had to apply for ssdi, which I have been receiving since 2007.

Seems like the company should be responsible for it's injured worker, and not be allowed to pas the buck to the state.
dolphines

Re: ssdi (California)

Postby LawAdvocate on Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:13 am

Because the insurance companies saw a loophole, so until the Feds fix it, it is not illegal, just perhaps immoral.
LawAdvocate

Postby dolphines on Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:34 am

I just realized that the ins comp. has now gotten laws passed to turn injured workers pay over to the state after 2 years, via SSDI. And now they have gotten the state to allow them to pass on the FMC to medical set aside, literally allowing them to completely pass all care and financial responsibility to the state, and be responsible for no injured workers. And now they don't even have to send us to a doctor, they can just send medical records to imr.

Who the hell is representing US?
dolphines

Re: ssdi (California) (California) (California) (California) (Ca

Postby Barney5 on Sun Sep 21, 2014 11:33 am

Dolphins you brought up a good point. Who is out there representing injured workers in our state? The two year TTD cap was passed with SB899 in 2004 and which resulted in more cost shifting to Social Security. The new IMR process was passed with SB863 and why injured workers are subject to ghost paper reviewers... who often time agree with the UR denial.